You are here

Castle Heidenreichstein

Castles & Country Houses, Museums & Art Centres, Private Collections
Burg Heidenreichstein, formerly a moated castle, dates back to the 12th century and is entered through two gate buildings, each with its own drawbridge. The castle was never taken or destroyed. Heidenreichstein is first mentioned in 1200 in connection with an Otto von Heidenreichstein. The oldest part, the keep, probably dates back to 1190, whereas most of the other buildings date from the 15th and 16th century.

From 1348 until 1641 the castle was owned by the powerful von Puchheim family, and from 1684 until 1947 it was in the hands of the Counts and later Princes Pálffy. When Ladislaus, 5e Prince Pálffy von Erdöd died in 1947 without heirs, Heidenreichstein was inherited by a friend of his, Count Rudolf van der Straten-Ponthoz. His daughter was married to Count Christian Kinsky von Wchinitz und Tettau, whose descendants live today permanently at Castle Heidenreichstein.

The castle can be visited and there's a castle museum inside.

For more detailed informations, see website


Castle Heidenreichstein

Kinsky'sches Forstamt, Burg Heidenreichstein GmbH & Co OG
Schremser Strasse 1
3860 Heidenreichstein